New England Jazz Hall of Fame Inductees

In the first three election cycles, directed by the New England Jazz Alliance, voters elected 20 accomplished individuals with strong regional ties to the Hall of Fame. All were “high achievers” in the jazz world, and most gained fame far beyond the borders of New England. The ranks include musicians, composers, arrangers and teachers. They made memorable music, but they were also mentors, and a measure of their stature is how often they are named as major influences.

The Hall of Fame inductees by year are:

  • Inducted in 2001:Jaki Byard, Harry Carney, Serge Chaloff, Alan Dawson, Paul Gonsalves, Bobby Hackett, Johnny Hodges, Sabby Lewis, Sonny Stitt, Tony Williams
  • Inducted in 2004:Ruby Braff, Ralph Burns, Gigi Gryce, Boots Mussulli, Nat Pierce
  • Inducted in 2009:Dean Earl, Joe Gordon, Edmond Hall, Max Kaminsky, Jimmy Mosher